December 1, 2023

Andrew Scott, Nicole Scherzinger and writer Jack Thorne were among the winners at last night’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards in London.

Scott’s performance in Vanya landed him a second Best Actor Awards after his 2019 win for Present Laughter. The play, billed as a “radical new version of Anton Chekhov’s Uncle Vanya,” saw Scott portray numerous characters. It ran at the Duke of York’s Theatre.

The Sherlock and wasn’t on hand to collect his prize, so Jenna Coleman, who announced his win, collected it on his behalf.

Former Pussycat Doll singer and reality TV judge Scherzinger took home Best Musical Performance for her role in Sunset Boulevard, which began in September at the Savoy Theatre. The play also landed a Best Director win for Jamie Lloyd.

His Dark Materials writer Thorne’s The Motive and the Cure, about the off-stage happenings of Sir JohN Gieldgud’s 1964 Broadway production on Hamlet starring Richard Burton, was named Best Play. The production’s director, Sam Mendes, was also given a Lebedev Award for his dedication to theater.

Ruth Wilson and Elton John were handed Editor’s Awards — Wilson’s for her 24-hour show The Second Woman and John for his work on plays such as The Lion King, Billy Elliot and Tammy Faye. Other winners included Georgia Lowe (Best Design for her work on Lyric Hammersmith’s The Good Person of Szechwan) and Tatenda Shamiso (Emerging Talent for No I.D. at the Royal Court).

Last year, Jodie Comer was the big winner, taking home a Best Actress win for her West End stage debut in Prima Facie. Previous winners at the ES Theatre Awards include Judi Dench, Benedict Cumberbatch, Tom Hiddleston, Nicole Kidman and Gillian Anderson.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet