July 14, 2024


India was sad on Sunday. The nation could not be faulted as its dream had come crashing down. The country had pinned their hopes on the Indian cricket team to bring home the World Cup with a win over Australia in  the final in Ahmedabad, but it was the visitors who were the better team on the day and deservedly took the title. But the most dejected lot of them all were the Indian cricket team players, who played a fearless brand of cricket over the last month-and-half. But one bad day in office ruined their dreams.

India captain Rohit Sharma and Player of the Tournament Virat Kohli were visibly broken down after the painful defeat to Australia. While videos showed that Rohit Sharma had tears in his eyes, Kohli, who scored the most runs in the competition and was named player of the tournament, his his face with his cap.

However, there was not shortage of support for the Indian cricket team even after the loss. The fans at the Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad shouted ‘Rohit, Rohit, as he walked away dejectedly after the post-match presentation ceremony.

Notably, hosts India had an outstanding record, registering 10 consecutive victories, leading up to the final.

India’s run-scoring machine Kohli was named the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Player of the Tournament. Kohli’s brilliance with the bat was a defining feature of the tournament, with India’s number three scoring at least a half-century in nine of his 11 innings. His 765 runs in the tournament is the most ever scored by an individual batter at a men’s Cricket World Cup, surpassing the previous record set by Sachin Tendulkar, who hit 673 in the 2003 tournament.

The bulk of the supporters gathered at the Narendra Modi Stadium, wanting to see the host nation end their decade-long wait for an ICC trophy win.

But it was Australia who came through on the big day. After a fast-paced powerplay, the Australian bowling attack collaborated to bowl India out for 240.

And Travis Head was the standout batter, striking an incredible century to give Australia their sixth ICC Cricket World Cup title.

With ANI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet