February 25, 2024

“You all have etched your name in history”, said Jagdeep Dhankar. (File)

New Delhi:

Fondly remembering the contribution of retiring members from the Rajya Sabha, Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar on Thursday said the wisdom shared by them would be greatly missed and their departure would leave a void.

The Vice President was bidding farewell to the 68 MPs of the upper house who retired during the year.

“The retirement of our esteemed colleagues will undoubtedly leave a void. It is often said that ‘every beginning has an end and every end has a new beginning’,” he said.

One never retires from public service, he said, and wished the members an active public life further ahead.

“These hallowed chambers of Parliament are the sanctum sanctorum of the temple of democracy. It’s a distinct honour and a rare privilege to be able to serve our motherland from the platform of this House.

“This very House represents the diversity of views that our vibrant democracy shares but at the same time it reflects the unity of our purpose as well. We are here with a singular commitment of serving this great land,” the Vice President said in his introductory remarks.

“You all have etched your name in history for being part of the democratic process in effecting transformational epochal events,” Jagdeep Dhankhar said.

He recalled that during this period, the Council of States saw the passing of many important legislations, including the Abrogation of Article 370 – a temporary provision of our Constitution, the Nari Shakti Vandan Adhiniyam, the Bhartiya nyay Samhita, Bhartiya Nagarik Suraksha Bill and Bharatiya Sakshya Bill, the Jan Vishwas (Amendment of Provisions) Bill, 2023 and the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Bill, 2021.

We were also part of the inauguration of the state-of-the-art new building of Parliament, he noted.

“I am sure, the retiring members too would be departing with a profound sense of contentment for their efforts in advancing the interest of Bharat and every Bharatiya.

“Please allow me to express our profound appreciation for the distinguished service rendered by each one of our esteemed retiring colleagues. Their contribution will be fondly remembered and the wisdom they shared would be greatly missed,” the chairman said.

He also said that the use of Indian languages increased and Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, and Santhali were used for the first time during discussions in the House.

Arrangements were put in place for the members to speak in any of the 22 languages, he said.

He also recalled that the panel of vice-chairpersons underwent a new change with many first time members presiding over the Council.

“In togetherness, we have strived to ensure that this temple of democracy sustains its relevance by being a theatre of dialogue, debate, deliberation and discussion,” he said.

“The rich contributions by our retiring colleagues have significantly enhanced the quality of discourse that are vital to our nation. The House and its Committees stand greatly enriched by their active and constructive participation,” he said.

He also recalled the contribution of two members, Sushil Kumar Modi and Abhishek Singhvi, who are chairmen of two department-related Parliamentary Standing Committees of Rajya Sabha.

Jagdeep Dhankhar termed their RS tenure impactful in shaping legislative policies and scrutinizing government actions.

He also paid tributes to five female retirees — Jaya Bachchan, Vandana Chavan, Kanta Kardam, Sonal Mansingh and Amee Yajnik. All five were on the panel of vice chairpersons.

Jagdeep Dhankhar said among those who are retiring are nine Ministers – Dharmendra Pradhan, Narayan Rane, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Mansukh Mandaviya, Bhupendra Yadav, Parshottam Rupala, Rajeev Chandrashekhar, V Muraleedharan, L Murugan.

All of them have served this country with distinction by steering their respective ministries to greater heights, he said. “The wealth of parliamentary experience they have garnered during their tenure here, will undoubtedly prove as invaluable asset as they embark on new endeavors.

“I am sure that their guidance and mentorship will certainly be available for new members,” he noted.

“May you all continue to inspire and lead, making meaningful contributions to the welfare and progress of our nation,” he said.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet