March 1, 2024

Anand Piramal with Rohan Bopanna, Sania Mirza and Purav Raja© Instagram

Rohan Bopanna recebtly became the toast of the nation as he won the Australian Open men’s doubles title. Bopanna became the oldest man to win a Grand Slam after clinching the Australian Open 2024 men’s doubles title, pairing with Matthew Ebden. Bopanna, who is set to turn 44 in March this year, also celebrated becoming the oldest number one in men’s doubles history by winning the title in Melbourne on Saturday. The second seeds claimed a 7-6 (7/0), 7-5 victory over unseeded Italian pair Simone Bolelli and Andrea Vavassori on Rod Laver Arena. 

On Friday, he was involved in a Pickleball match with industrialist Anand Piramal, tennis stars Sania Mirza and Purav Raja. Pickleball is a sport that is quite similar to tennis and can be played both indoors and outdoors. But paddles and hollow plastic balls are used in the game.

“What a dream playing pickleball with my buddy and tennis legend #puravraja against two of the WORLD’s greatest tennis players @mirzasaniar and @rohanbopanna0403 (For Bops it was as big as his Australian Open Final),” Piramal wrote on his Instagram Story, which was re-shared by Sania Mirza. 

Latest and Breaking News on NDTV

Bopanna also became only the third Indian to win a men’s doubles Grand Slam title. In a high-quality game of tennis, Bopanna and Ebden won the final that lasted one hour and 39 minutes.

Only the iconic Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi have won Major titles for India in men’s tennis while trailblazer Sania Mirza did it in women’s tennis.

For Bopanna it is his second Grand Slam title, having won the French Open mixed doubles with Canada’s Gabriela Dabrowski in 2017.

At 43, Bopanna also became the oldest Grand Slam champion in men’s tennis. He bettered the record of Jean-Julien Rojer who, at age of 40, had lifted the French Open men’s doubles trophy in 2022 with Marcelo Arevola.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet