February 23, 2024

Who: India vs Australia
What: ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup final
When: Sunday, February 11, 2024, 10am (08:00 GMT)
Where: Willowmoore Park, Benoni, South Africa

India’s Under-19 team step onto the field to play the ICC World Cup final with a desire for redemption, hoping to avenge their senior counterparts’ home defeat to Australia in international cricket’s showpiece event.

Three months ago, India’s senior squad suffered a six-wicket defeat to Australia in the World Cup final on home soil in front of a crowd of 92,000. The loss was painful for fans of the Indian team, who had been unbeaten in the tournament en route to the final.

On Sunday, India’s U-19 team has the chance to rewrite history and chase a record sixth world title.

‘Indian team carries the dreams of a billion hearts’

India captain Uday Saharan, the tournament’s leading run-scorer, and his side are eager to create a legacy for the future players.

Playing in their fifth successive U-19 World Cup final, India are looking to defend the trophy they won in 2022.

“As we approach the World Cup final, we carry the dreams of a billion hearts on our shoulders,” Saharan told reporters ahead of the final. “Our journey has been a testament to our hard work, unity, and love for the game.

“In this final battle, we aim to create a legacy that inspires the next generation. It’s not just a game; it’s a chance to etch our names in history.”

Aiming for a record sixth World Cup victory, Saharan knows that Australia will pose a huge challenge for the Boys in Blue.

“Right from our first game, we have played with passion, determination, and a belief that we will get the coveted title home,” Saharan added.

“In the final, against Australia, it is going to be no different as we go one step closer to defending the title successfully.”

‘Australian boys want to make family, friends proud’

Australia captain Hugh Weibgen said his squad has done a “terrific job” throughout the tournament and they want to finish their campaign by lifting the trophy on Sunday.

“This is an opportunity to make our coaches as well as family and friends extremely proud. They have helped and supported us along the journey,” said Weibgen.

“India have obviously also had an outstanding tournament so far and are a class team. We’re expecting they will provide a challenge for us, and we are looking forward to it.”

Form guide

Both India and Australia enter the final undefeated, having topped their respective groups in both the initial stage and the Super Six stage.

India booked their spot in the final after beating hosts South Africa by two wickets in a tense matchup on Tuesday. Chasing 245 for victory, India fought back from 32-4 to seal a memorable win, thanks to a brilliant match-winning partnership between Sachin Dhas and captain Saharan.

Australia also had a dramatic route to the final as they defeated Pakistan by one wicket in the final over of Thursday’s second semifinal. Having bowled out Pakistan for a seemingly below-par total of 179, Australia stuttered in their chase before their middle and lower order formed crucial partnerships to help them edge home in a thrilling fashion.

Head-to-head record

India and Australia have met twice before in an ICC U-19 Men’s World Cup final, with India having won on both occasions – in 2012 and 2018.


Australia’s predicted lineup: Harry Dixon, Sam Konstas, Hugh Weibgen (captain), Harjas Singh, Ryan Hicks (wicketkeeper), Ollie Peake, Tom Campbell, Raf MacMillan, Tom Straker, Mahli Beardman, Callum Vidler.

India’s predicted lineup: Adarsh Singh, Arshin Kulkarni, Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan (C), Priyanshu Moliya, Sachin Dhas, Aravelly Avanish (wk), Murugan Abhishek, Naman Tiwari, Raj Limbani, Saumy Pandey.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet