April 13, 2024

Manohar Joshi served as Maharashtra chief minister from 1995 to 1999

New Delhi:

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Manohar Joshi died at a Mumbai hospital today, two days after he suffered a cardiac arrest. He was 86.

The funeral of Mr Joshi will be held at the Shivaji Park crematorium in Mumbai later today.

Mr Joshi was admitted to the PD Hinduja Hospital in Mumbai on Wednesday.

“Manohar Joshi, Ex-Chief Minister of Maharashtra, was admitted at PD Hinduja Hospital on 21st February 2024. He suffered a cardiac event and is severely ill. He is currently in the ICU under close observation and receiving best of medical care,” the hospital said in a statement on Thursday.

He served as Maharashtra chief minister from 1995 to 1999 and was the first leader from the undivided Shiv Sena to occupy the top post in the state.

Mr Joshi was also elected as a Member of Parliament and was the Lok Sabha Speaker from 2002 to 2004.

Born in Nandvi in the Raigad district of Maharashtra on December 2 1937, Mr Joshi was educated in Mumbai.

He was married to Anagha Manohar Joshi, who died in 2020 at the age of 75. He is survived by a son and two daughters.

Manohar Joshi’s Political Career

Manohar Joshi began his career as a teacher and entered into politics in 1967. He was associated with the Shiv Sena for over 40 years.

Mr Joshi was Municipal Councilor in Mumbai during 1968-70 and Chairman, Standing Committee (Municipal Corporation) in 1970.

He also served as the Mayor of Mumbai during 1976-77.

He was then elected to the Maharashtra Legislative Council in 1972. After serving three terms in the Legislative Council, Mr Joshi was elected to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly in 1990.

He also served as the Leader of the Opposition in the Maharashtra Assembly during 1990-91. 

In the 1999 General Elections, he won from the Mumbai North-Central Lok Sabha Constituency on a Shiv Sena ticket.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet