April 21, 2024


O Panneerselvam Gets 'Jackfruit' As Symbol To Contest Lok Sabha Polls

OPS is in alliance with the BJP and is contesting as an independent.


Former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and ousted AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam has been allotted the ‘jackfruit’ symbol to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Ramanathapuram seat.

The symbol was allotted through a lottery organised at the district collectorate in Ramanathapuram on Saturday.

On Sunday, Panneerselvam, who is contesting the polls as an independent, posed with a ‘jackfruit’ to officially announce the allotment of the symbol at a public meeting in Thiruvadanai.

OPS is in alliance with the BJP and is contesting the seat as an independent after losing a case in Madras High Court for retaining the flag and letterhead of the AIADMK.

The ‘jackfruit’ symbol was allotted through a drawing of lots at the district collectorate on Saturday. The former CM will face four other candidates of the same name in Ramanathapuram.

MP Ravindranath, Thiruvadanai Union Secretary Senkai Rajan, Aani Muthu Vetrivelan, KK Pandi, Selvanayakam, BJP spiritual wing state secretary Guruji and other alliance party executives were present.

Earlier, Panneerselvam (OPS) filed his nomination earlier, on Monday, March 25. He submitted his nomination to Ramanathapuram District Collector P Vishnuchandran.

There are 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu. The state is voting on April 19 in a single phase of polling.

During the 2019 general elections, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-led Secular Progressive Alliance, which comprised INC, VCK, MDMK, CPI, CPI(M), IUML, MMK, KMDK, TVK, and AIFB, registered a landslide victory by winning 38 of the 39 seats.

The election for 543 Lok Sabha seats in the country will be held in seven phases starting April 19.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet