April 16, 2024

Quick response teams (QRTs) have been deployed, says Mamata Banerjee.


Four persons were killed and at least 70 people injured as a storm destroyed parts of Jalpaiguri district in northern West Bengal on Sunday, officials said.

Several houses were damaged, trees uprooted and electric poles fell as strong winds devastated most parts of the district headquarters town and many areas of neighbouring Mainaguri, they said.

Latest and Breaking News on NDTV

Among the most affected areas were Rajarhat, Barnish, Bakali, Jorpakdi, Madhabdanga and Saptibari, they said.

The killed were identified as Dijendra Narayan Sarkar (52) of Senpara, Anima Burman (45) of Paharpur, Jagen Roy (72) of Putimari and Samar Roy (64) of Rajarhat, they added.

“A rescue operation is underway,” a disaster management officer said.

Dhupguri MLA Nirmal Chandra Roy told PTI that several people were admitted to hospital with injuries.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said personnel of the civil administration, police and disaster management have been deployed for the relief works.

Quick response teams (QRTs) have also been deployed, and the affected people were being shifted to safer places, she said.

“Sad to know that sudden heavy rainfall and stormy winds brought disasters today afternoon in some Jalpaiguri-Maynaguri areas, with loss of human lives, injuries, house damages, uprooting of trees and electricity poles etc,” she posted on X.

“District administration will provide compensation to next of family in the case of the deaths, and the injured as per rules and following the MCC (model code of conduct),” she added.

Latest and Breaking News on NDTV

Stating that she was with the affected families, Banerjee assured them that the administration would provide all sorts of assistance.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet