July 14, 2024


Domestic cricket stalwart Jalaj Saxena destroyed Bengal with career-best figures of 9/68 as the visitors found themselves on the brink of a second successive defeat in the Ranji Trophy Group D in Kerala on Sunday. Resuming on 172/8, Bengal managed to add just eight runs to their overnight total with the veteran all-rounder adding two more wickets to his name. The 37-year-old now has 439 wickets and has 6600-plus runs from 138 matches in first-class cricket. Despite a substantial lead, Kerala skipper Sanju Samson chose not to enforce follow-on and declared their second essay at 265/6 to set a massive 449-run target for the visitors.

In reply, Bengal were 77/2 with Abhimanyu Easwaran batting on 33. Bengal had lost their last match against Mumbai at Eden Gardens.

Khare slams fighting 143, but Mumbai hold edge

In Raipur, skipper Amandeep Khare led from the front with a stellar 143 as Chhattisgarh put up a strong fight, falling just one run short of Mumbai’s first innings total of 351.

From 180/4 overnight, Khare, who was unbeaten on 35, showed utmost patience in his composed knock from 211 balls.

Mumbai kept taking wickets at one end but Khare stood firm and was the last man to get out. He struck 14 fours and four sixes.

In reply, Mumbai were 97/1 at close on day three.

With a lead of 98 runs, Mumbai seemed to be well-placed with Bhupen Lalwani and Amogh Bhatkal at the crease.

Shubham Singh managed the only breakthrough for Chhattisgarh in Mumbai’s second innings when he dismissed Mumbai’s first innings hero Prithvi Shaw, five runs short of a half-century.

The Indian batter’s 159 off 185 balls had powered Mumbai to 351.

Assam eyeing maiden win of season

Veteran off-spinner Swarupam Purkayastha was the star performer with the ball, securing four wickets for just 11 runs, as Assam bundled out Bihar for 207 to take a huge first innings lead of 198 runs in Guwahati.

Assam were quick to enforce the follow-on and reduced Bihar to 168/3 at close of play on the penultimate day.

Opener Piyush Singh displayed resilience with an unbeaten 79 from 204, steering Bihar in their second essay.

The visitors face a challenging task ahead, trailing by 30 runs as Assam will be eyeing their first win of the season.

Mukhtar Hussain, Rahul Singh and Mrinmoy Dutta picked up wicket apiece for Assam.

Karnataka frontrunners vs TN

Left-arm spinner Ajith Ram’s five-wicket haul helped Tamil Nadu bowl out Karnataka for 139 but the visitors still held the edge in their Ranji Trophy Group C match here on Sunday.

Ram (5/61) and Sai Kishore (2/27) shared the spoils to bundle out Karnataka in 56.4 overs to set themselves a target of 355.

First innings centurion Devdutt Paddikal was Karnataka’s top-scorer with a 56-ball 36.

At stumps on the penultimate day, Tamil Nadu were 36/1, still needing 319 runs.

Vimal Kumar was batting on 16 and giving him company was Pradosh Ranjan Paul on 10. Narayan Jagadeesan (8) was the only batter to be dismissed.

Resuming on 129/7 in reply to Karnataka’s 366, Tamil Nadu added just 22 runs before being bowled out.

In Mohali, hosts Punjab were in real trouble after being reduced to 40/4 in their second innings in pursuit of an improbable target 411 runs.

In Chandigarh, Tripura rode on half-centuries from Manisankar Murasingh (94), Ganesh Satish (88), skipper Wriddhiman Saha (66) and Bimranjit Debnath (64) to score 438 in reply to host’s 356.

At stumps on day three, Chandigarh were 116 for no loss with Shivam Bhambri (61 not out) and Arslan Khan (49 not out) at the crease.

Brief Scores In Raipur: Mumbai 351 and 97/1; 28 overs (Prithvi Shaw 45, Bhupen Lalwani 40 batting). Chhattisgarh 350; 106.1 overs (Amandeep Khare 143, Shashank Chandrakar 56, Sanjeet Desai 41; Tushar Deshpande 5/121, Royston Dias 2/44). Mumbai lead by 98 runs.

In Guwahati: Assam: 405. Bihar 207; 71.5 overs (Paramjeet Singh 53, Bipin Saurabh 39; Swarupam Purkayastha 4/11, Mukhtar Hussain 3/22) and following on 168/3; 61 overs (Piyush Singh 79 not out, Bipin Saurabh 44; Mukhtar Hussain 1/15, Rahul Singh 1/13). Bihar trails by 30 runs.

In Thumba: Kerala: 363 and 265/6 declared; 64.2 overs (Rohan Kunnummal 51, Sachin Baby 51, Shreyas Gopal 50 not out; Shahbaz Ahmed 3/80). Bengal: 180; 51.1 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 72; Jalaj Saxena 9/68) and 77/2; 20.4 overs (Target: 449) (Abhimanyu Easwaran 33 batting, Sudip Gharami 31). Bengal need 372 runs.

In Vizianagaram: Andhra 261 and 271/5; 92 overs (Ricky Bhui 100 batting, Hanuma Vihari 48, Shaik Rasheed 42 batting; Saurabh Kumar 3/73). Uttar Pradesh 198. Andhra lead by 338 runs. 

At Chennai: Karnataka 366 & 139 56.4 overs (Devdutt Paddikal 36, Ajith Ram 5/61) vs Tamil Nadu 151 & 36 for one in 15 overs (Vimal Kumar 16 batting; Vijaykumar Vyshak 1/12).

At Chandigarh: Chandigarh 356 & 116 for no loss (Shivam Bhambri 61 batting, Arslan Khan 49 batting) vs Tripura 438 all out in 121 overs (Manisankar Murasingh 94, Ganesh Satish 88, Wriddhiman Saha 66, Bikramjit Debnath 64; Gurinder Singh 4/117).

At Surat: Railways 297 & 208 (Ashutosh Sharma 81; Darshan Misal 4/44) vs Goa 200 & 93 for one in 31 overs overs (Suyash Prabhudessai 54 batting; Adarsh Singh 1/29).

At Mohali: Gujarat 339 & 290 for 8 declared (Sunpreetsingh Bagga 79; Baltej Singh 2/55) vs Punjab 219 & 40 for 4 in 14 overs (Jassinder Singh 4 batting; Priyajitsing Jadeja 3/17). 

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet