April 16, 2024

Indian tennis great Rohan Bopanna created history as he and his partner Matthew Ebden defeated Croatia’s Ivan Dodic and American Austin Krajicek 6-7 6-3 10-16 to clinch the Miami Open title. In the process, Bopanna, aged 44, became the oldest man to win a Masters 1000 title on the ATP circuit. The tennis star broke his own record, having created it last year by winning the Indian Wells title. The Miami Open win also enabled Bopanna to become the second Indian since Leander Paes to reach the finals of all nine ATP Masters 1000 events.

Bopanna and Ebden had a sloppy start to the game as they lost the first set by 6-7. However, the Indo-Aussie pair kept their nerves cool and made a solid comeback in the match. In the second set, Bopanna-Ebden sealed a 6-3 win. Meanwhile, in the third and deciding set, they dominated over their opponents and clinched a 10-6 win to end the game in their favour.

Earlier, in the semi-final round, Bopanna-Edben entered into the final after beating Spain’s Marcel Granollers and his Argentine partner Horacio Zeballos by 6-1 and 6-4.

In the semi-final match of the Miami Open, they dominated the game from the very first moment. In the first set, the Indo-Aussie duo clinched a 6-1 win. In the second set, the opponents tried to make a comeback but Bopanna and his teammate kept their nerves cool and sealed a 6-4 win.

In the Australian Open held this year, the duo defeated Italy’s Simone Bolelli and Andrea Vavassori in straight sets, 7-6, 7-5, in a thrilling final. It was Bopanna’s second career Grand Slam title and his first in men’s doubles. His previous Grand Slam victory came in mixed doubles with Gabriela Dabrowski of Canada at the 2017 French Open.

Bopanna, who made his 17th Australian Open appearance in this edition, comfortably wrapped up his maiden Grand Slam men’s doubles title victory. Aged 43 years, 329 days, he also became the oldest Grand Slam champion.

The Indian tennis player is also the third Indian man in the Open Era to win a major men’s doubles title, following Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi. He also became the world’s first-ranked player following the title win.

With ANI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet