April 16, 2024

Rohit Sharma was removed as MI captain ahead of IPL 2024© BCCI/Sportzpics

It’s been weeks since Hardik Pandya replaced Rohit Sharma as the captain of the Mumbai Indians team. The change, which remains one of the most talked about topics in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, hasn’t just had fans but also some former cricketers baffled. Navjot Singh Sidhu, former India cricketer-turned-commentator, echoed the sentiments of thousands of Rohit Sharma fans as he asked what wrong did the Hitman do, to be removed as Mumbai’s skipper. While Rohit continues to lead the Indian national cricket team, it’s Hardik who captains his IPL franchise.

“Nobody can digest the fact that India’s hero, India’s captain, is not the captain of our franchise. ‘What wrong has he done?’ is what fans of the franchise would be thinking,” Navjot Sidhu said on Star Sports.

“But what does he have to do? There is nothing that succeeds like success. If he had won these two matches, there wouldn’t have been any noise,” he further added.

There were also rumours that Hardik would be elevated as India’s skipper, at least in the shortest format, and would lead the team in the T20 World Cup 2024. But, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah confirmed that Rohit would remain India’s skipper and captain the team in the showpiece event which starts in June this year.

Sidhu feels if the announcement from the BCCI had come earlier, Mumbai Indians might not have decided to replace him with Hardik as the franchise’s captain.

“If India would have announced earlier in October that Rohit Sharma would return as the India T20I captain in 2024, then the franchise might not have taken the call. Because they would have thought that how can India captain not be the captain of the franchise,” Navjot Singh Sidhu said.

As things stand, Hardik is the captain of Mumbai Indians while Rohit continues to lead the Indian team in all three formats.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Batman138 Bro138 Dolar138 Gas138 Gudang138 Hoki99 Ligaciputra Panen77 Zeus138 Kilat77 Planet88 Gaspol168 Sikat88 Rupiah138 Garuda138 Gacor77 Roma77 Sensa138 Panen138 Slot138 Gaco88 Elanggame Candy99 Cair77 Max7 Best188 Space77 Sky77 Luxury777 Maxwin138 Bosswin168 Cocol88 Slot5000 Babe138 Luxury138 Jet77 Bonanza138 Bos88 Aquaslot Taktik88 Lord88 Indobet Slot69 Paus138 Tiktok88 Panengg Bingo4d Stars77 77dragon Warung168 Receh88 Online138 Tambang88 Asia77 Klik4d Bdslot88 Gajah138 Bigwin138 Markas138 Yuk69 Emas168 Key4d Harta138  Gopek178 Imbaslot Imbajp Deluna4d Luxury333 Pentaslot Luxury111 Cair77 Gboslot Pandora188 Olxtoto Slotvip Eslot Kuy138 Imbagacor Bimabet